Debashis Mukherjee

Distinguished Chair Professor

Email: ,

Professor Mukherjee was previously the Director of the Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science (IACS), and also the Chairman of its Raman Centre for Atomic Molecular and Optical Sciences. He also held the SN Bose Chair Professorship.  Professor Mukherjee was awarded the prestigious Humboldt Research Award for his pioneering research in many-body electronic structure. He is also a recipient of the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar award (1987). The award citation reads, ‘Dr Mukherjee has done significant work in theoretical chemistry, particularly in the pioneering development of open- shell coupled- cluster theory of molecular electronic structure’.

His main research interests are in the Molecular Electronic structure theory and Theoretical Spectroscopy. His work on the Fock Space Coupled Cluster Theory and the State-specific Coupled Cluster Theory are regarded ground-breaking, and are named after him. A Fellow of numerous academics, including the International Academy of Quantum Molecular Sciences, the Asia Pacific Association for Theoretical and Computational Chemists (APATCC), the American Institute of Chemists, the Indian Academy of Sciences, the Indian National Science Academy, Professor Mukherjee is a founder member of APATCC. He was invited to deliver the Coulson Memorial Lecture of the Center of Computational and Quantum Chemistry in the University of Georgia, Atlanta, and the Fukui Memorial Lecture of the APATCC.

For detailed resume please click here