Walter Kohn Centenary Celebration

One-Day Celebratory Symposium on

Life, Science and Legacy of Walter Kohn

March 9, 2023

Organized by
: TCG Centre for Research and Education in Science and Technology (TCG CREST)

Walter Kohn is an iconic figure in 20th Century Science.  He was an Austrian-American theoretical physicist and theoretical chemist. Kohn was awarded the Nobel Prize  in Chemistry in 1998 for development of the invaluable concept of reformulating quantum many-electron problem in a remarkably elegant fashion.

On the occasion of his birth centenary,  TCG CREST organized a one-day symposium (WKCCS2023) on 9th March 2023. This was followed by a Special Evening Lecture by  Noble laureate  Professor Roald  Hoffman,  on Friday, 10th March 2023.

Multiple eminent speakers  from India and USA, deliberated on the life and science of Walter Kohn, starting from a historical perspective, and then discussed the legacy that he left behind for generations of physicists, chemists, biologists and materials scientists.  Apart from reminiscences, the presentations provided a flavor of the versatility of Walter Kohn which is evident from the diverse phenomena that are named after him, viz.

  • Kohn variational principle in scattering theory
  • Korringa-Kohn-Rostoker (KKR) Green’s function method in electronic structure
  • Kohn anomaly or ‘kink’ in the phonon spectra of metals
  • Kohn-Luttinger theories : Effective mass theory, Quantum transport, Field Theory
  • Kohn-Majumdar theorem of continuity between bound & unbound state in a Fermi gas
  • Hohenberg-Kohn-Sham Density Functional Theory

Please find below the video of the speakers and their presentations in the Workshop.

(Please click on the images to see the videos)

Special Evening Lecture on 10th March, 2023

Professor Roald Hoffmann, Nobel Prize Winner (1981) in Chemistry and  the Frank H.T. Rhodes Professor of Humane Letters, Emeritus, Cornell University, USA, delivered the Special evening lecture entitled “Understanding and Computation” on this occasion on March 10, 2023

(Please click on the image to see the video)

Chief Patron

Dr. Purnendu Chatterjee

Advisory Committee
  • Sabyasachi Bhattacharya
  • T.V. Ramakrishnan
  • Debashis Mukherjee
Organizing Committee
  • Gour P. Das (Convener)
  • Tanusri Saha-Dasgupta
  • Swapan K. Ghosh


Program Schedule :

Program Poster: